Are you still doing yoga?

I get asked this question at least twice a week or so it seems. My answer is “sort of”. I haven’t taught a yoga class since August of 2014. That’s when my OBGYN started monitoring me closely for preclamsia. I was going to the doctors or hospital three to four times a week back then and still working full time. Ok I lied, I subbed a class last month, but that was just a one time thing. I don’t have a regular class anymore and I can’t even say I’m subbing regularly. I do miss it, but feel strapped for time. Teaching during the work week is out of the question. And I still don’t want to give up my weekend time with Gwen to teach a class. I do miss it though. I truly love teaching yoga. A time will come when I’m able to teach again – I’m sure if it. 

As for my own practice, I’m lucky to get in one class a week. I’m still using YogaGlo, the online monthly subscription based service. It provides tons of different styles of classes, lengths, and different instructors. At $18 a month if I get in two classes a month, I think it’s worth it. I try to get to get to a live class every now and then, but it doesn’t happen as often as I’d like.

I think people ask me because they know how important it is to me. They know how much I enjoyed teaching and practicing, but I want them to know it doesn’t define me. Yoga helps me be a better version of myself, but with or without it I’m still me. 

Peace and love

Leave a Reply

