Mommy Thumb

About a month ago my left thumb started aching. Then it felt like every time I tried to grab something or reach for something the bone would separate from the rest of my hand. I have no idea if this is what actually was happening, but that’s what it felt like and it was painful.

Two friends warned me about tendinitis in your wrists from holding babies all day. One friend had surgery in both wrists because of it. The other wears a brace and has done physical therapy.

I thought because I was aware of the potential for it, that I wouldn’t get it. I was wrong.

As of late, I’ve been trying to hold my baby differently…with my thumb glued to my index finger. This helps relieve some of the pain. I’ve also started picking her up by scooping under her bottom instead of grabbing under her armpits. This also seems to help. I also bought a brace and it feels great when I wear it, but I don’t always remember to put it on. Since doing these few things, the popping of the bone doesn’t happen as often. It still aches an annoying ache though.

I did some research today and found this video helpful. It’s a bit corny, but good.

I’ll keep trying these techniques in hopes that it doesn’t get worse and I don’t have to see a doctor.

Leave a Reply

