Update: day 1 of sleep training

The night wasn’t awful. We’ve had worse. It wasn’t the best either. We’ve had better.

Here’s the breakdown:
– we took away our 14 week olds swaddle and sleeping pod
– we put her in a sleep sack and laid her flat in the crib
– she fell asleep cradled in my arms at 6:45 pm
– I laid her in the crib
– she slept flat in her crib until 7:15 pm
– we soothed her, rubbed her belly, shushed her, and put her pacifier back in
– she fell back asleep
– she woke up 10 min later
– she cried
– we soothed her, rubbed her belly, shushed her, and put her pacifier back in
– this went on for several hours
– she slept soundly from 10 pm – 12:30 am
– she woke up crying and wouldn’t stop. It was the hysterical, I’m never going to stop crying cry
– I changed her diaper
– I let her breastfeed (not sure if offering food was the right thing, but I did it anyway)
– cradled her in my arms back to sleep
– laid her flat in the crib
– she immediately woke up
– soothed her, rubbed her belly, hushed her, and put her pacifier back in
– she calmed down
– I laid on the carpet in her room with the boppy as my pillow until she fell asleep
– 20 min later she fell asleep
– slept soundly until 3 or 4 am
– she woke fussing
– my husband went in to soothe her
– she slept until 7 am

Leave a Reply

