Working from home with an infant

Today was my first day attempting to work from home with a 3 month old. I think we did fairly well, other than the fact that I forgot my power cord at work and my laptop only lasted until 1pm. I worked (responded to emails) from my phone the rest of the day.

I had one conference call at 11 am which of course Gwen was awake for. I was hoping she would be napping during the call, but she wasn’t. We were doing a round robin, sharing ideas on this particular call. I opted to go first because I knew Gwen’s contentedness wouldn’t last long. She was happy in her swing for the first 10 minutes of the call and then she began to whine. I was still speaking so I quickly picked her up and put her in my lap and she quieted down. When I was finished speaking I told everyone on the call I was going to go on mute. A few times I was asked a question, I un-muted myself, answered the question and then re-muted and Gwen was quiet for all of it. At 11:40 she started to get cranky and I knew she needed to go down for a nap. With the phone still muted I went up stairs, swaddled her and rocked her to sleep. I was shocked she fell asleep within 5 minutes with the background noise of a conference call, but she did.

Success!

Leave a Reply

